Connect with us

Cricket Article

Windies team looking more confident as The universe boss is back

In international cricket, the Sri Lankan cricket team is now touring the West Indies for the Twenty20, ODI, and Test bilateral series. The tour is going to start with the first T20 match on March 4 at the Coolidge Cricket Ground (Antigua). The one-month tour includes 3 T20s, 3 ODIs, and 2 Tests. The 3rd T20 match of the series will end on March 8, then the ODI series will continue till March 10th-14th and at the last, the Test series will run from March 21 to April 3.

This is the first series between these two countries since March 2020. However, a two-match T20 series was held in Sri Lanka in March 2020 during the Covid-19 pandemic. Where the visiting West Indies whitewashed Sri Lanka 2-0.

Sri Lankan fast bowler Lahiru Kumara was dropped from the team due to being tested positive for the Covid-19 before the tour of the West Indies. The news was confirmed by the Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) on February 22. As a result, the visiting Sri Lanka will leave for the West Indies without him. Lahiru Kumara has been replaced by another pacer Suranga Lakmal.

Two experienced T20 specialists, Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo have returned to the team after reconciling the problems with the West Indies Cricket Board. The Caribbean team now seems to become more matured as they’ve joined the team. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, has flown to the West Indies with a new less strong team.

West Indies and Sri Lanka have met in a total of 11 matches since 2009. Where Sri Lanka has won 6 matches and West Indies has won 5 matches. Sri Lanka also had lost to West Indies in the last T20 series. They faced off each other for two matches in the series. Where both the matches were won by the T20 specialist, West Indies.

The West Indies also lost their last 3-match T20 series to New Zealand (2-0). Sri Lanka, on the other hand, played their last T20 series against the West Indies. After almost 1 year, Sri Lanka is coming down to the field to play the T20 series. Even though Sri Lanka is ahead in terms of statistics, the players of the West Indies team are in great form in the current situation. Moreover, this time the Caribbeans are going to play on their home soil, they must try their best to make the series memorable.

Notable, Sri Lanka is ranked 7th and West Indies is ranked 10th in the ICC T20 rankings. So both teams have to work hard in this series to build a stronger position in the points table.

T20 Squad:

West Indies – Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Evin Lewis, Rovman Powell, Kieron Pollard, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Andre Fletcher, Nicholas Pooran, Fidel Edwards, Obed McCoy, Kevin Sinclair

Sri Lanka – Dimuth Karunaratne, Oshada Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Ramesh Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Ashen Bandara, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Dilshan Madushanka, Lakshan Sandakan, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, PWH de Silva

T20 match schedule for West Indies and Sri Lanka:

1st T20 – 04 March, Coolidge Cricket Ground (Antigua), 04:00 (GMT+6)

2nd T20 – 06 March, Coolidge Cricket Ground (Antigua), 04:00 (GMT+6)

3rd T20 – 08 March, Coolidge Cricket Ground (Antigua), 04:00 (GMT+6)

The battle of bat-ball between Sri Lanka & West Indies is going to start. Predict the winner of every match & place bets on!

More in Cricket Article