Cricket Article

T20I battle between buoyant Caribbeans and mighty Pakistan commencing today

In international cricket, the Pakistan cricket team is now touring the West Indies for the T20I and Test bilateral series. The tour is going to kick off today with the first T20I match on July 28 at Kensington Oval (Barbados) in Bridgetown. The tour includes four T20I matches and two Test matches. The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th T20I matches of the series will be played on July 31 and August 1 and 3, respectively, at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.

Since 2011, West Indies and Pakistan have met in a total of 14 T20I matches, where Pakistan has won 11 matches and West Indies has won 3 matches. The last time the two teams met was in the T20I series in Pakistan in April 2018, where the Caribbeans were whitewashed by the hosts in that three-match series.

Pakistan last played a three-match T20I series against hosts England and lost the series 2-1 against England. On the other hand, the West Indies won their last five-match T20I series (4-1) against visiting Australia.

Out of the last 5 T20I series, West Indies and Pakistan both have won 3 of them. But this time Pakistan has a team with all the great players and most of them are in good form.

Despite Pakistan being ahead in terms of statistics, the success of the latest T20I series at home and abroad has given the West Indies players a sense of confidence. Moreover this time the Caribbeans play on home soil. They will try their best to make the series memorable.

Pakistan is ranked 4th and West Indies is ranked 8th in the ICC T20I rankings. So the Caribbeans have to work hard in this series to build a solid position in the points table.

T20I Squad:

West Indies – Kieron Pollard (c), Evin Lewis, Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Andre Fletcher, Nicholas Pooran, Hayden Walsh, Kevin Sinclair, Akeal Hosein, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Obed McCoy, Fidel Edwards

Pakistan – Babar Azam (c), Sharjeel Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Sohaib Maqsood, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Usman Qadir, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Azam Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Arshad Iqbal, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain

T20I match schedule for West Indies and Pakistan:
1st T20I – 28 July, Kensington Oval, Bridgetown (Barbados), 20:00 (GMT +6)
2nd T20I – 31 July, Providence Stadium (Guyana), 21:00 (GMT +6)
3rd T20I – 01 August, Providence Stadium (Guyana) 21:00 (GMT +6)
4th T20I – 03 August, Providence Stadium (Guyana) 21:00 (GMT +6)

The two fabulous teams of T20I cricket West Indies and Pakistan are going to face off against each other. For more updates on it, stay with Baji!

More in Cricket Article