Cricket Article

Rearrangement in BBL schedules after Covid-19 punches Heat camp

The match between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Sixers has been postponed due to positive cases of Covid-19 in the rapid antigen tests at Brisbane Heat Camp on Tuesday morning. As a result, Cricket Australia has been forced to change the fixtures of BBL 2021/22 at the last minute.

The Brisbane Heat conducted RT PCR tests on their entire playing group and staff and potential replacement players. According to the new schedule, the Perth Scorchers will face the Sydney Sixers at the Metricon Stadium on the night of January 4 (Tuesday) instead of January 6.

Heat, Sixers, Scorchers, and Thunder are now in Queensland for the next three matches on the next three nights. The four teams will take on each other in the next three nights on the Gold Coast. The BBL authorities have decided to change the match order, thinking that the Heat will now have a chance to sort out the squad.

The Scorchers and the Stars match was postponed due to a Covid-19 infection at the Melbourne Stars’ camp on December 30. After the toss on January 1, the Sixers and the Renegades match was abandoned due to rain. However, these matches will be rescheduled with a new schedule.

After a positive result in the Covid-19 Test, the Stars went down to play against the Scorchers and Renegades in their last two matches, leaving 12 players and eight staff members isolated. Two Scorchers’ players and a coach came in contact with a Stars infected person, and one of the Scorchers tested positive for the Covid-19 test.

The BBL authorities are making every effort to keep the BBL 2021/22 tournament enrolling within the Covid-19 outbreak. The BBL authority has kept players and staff under restrictions when they travel around Australia alongside, and they are also considering a hub in a city to finish the tournament.

BBL 2021/22 fixture changes:

January 4 – Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers , 14:15 (GMT + 6)
(previously scheduled for January 6)

January 5 – Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Sixers , 16:15 (GMT + 6)
(previously scheduled for January 4)

January 6 – Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder , 16:15 (GMT + 6)
(previously scheduled for January 5)

More in Cricket Article