Cricket Article

PSL 2021 Updates: The defending Champions Karachi Kings seem to be strong this time as well

The 6th edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2021 will be held from February 20 to March 22 in Karachi and Lahore, Pakistan. Like every year, six teams are going to take part in this tournament. 

These six franchises have already announced their teams. Each team’s squad for this year’s PSL must have a minimum of 16 players and a maximum of 18 players according to the following rules – three platinum players, three diamond players, three gold players, five silver players, two emerging players, and two (optional) players. Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators – these six teams will once again prove their superiority by fighting in the tournament. In this article, some aspects of Karachi Kings, the defending champions will be reflected.

The owner of Karachi Kings is Salman Iqbal who owns ARY Group and is the chief executive of ARY Digital Network. He is also the selector of the Karachi Kings Squad of PSL 2021. Former South African batsman Herschelle Gibbs is the head coach of the Karachi Kings and Azahar Mahmud is the assistant coach.

Karachi Kings, the champions of the 5th edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020, have made a great team this time as well. Babar Azam is the second-highest run-scorer in the league and Muhammad Amir is the third-highest wicket-taker, both of them are included in their squad. The league’s individual highest run-scoring innings is still held by South Africa’s Colin Ingram, who is on the Karachi Kings’ Platinum Player of the Year (2021) list.

The Karachi Kings have played a total of 54 matches in these five editions. Where they have won 23 matches and lost 27 matches. The team has scored a total of 6,459 runs in the five editions and taken 280 wickets. Babar Azam (1516) has scored the highest runs for their team so far and Mohammad Amir (49) has taken the highest wickets for them. This team has won the PSL title only once so far.

List of Karachi Kings squad:

Platinum – Colin Ingram (South Africa, batsman), Babar Azam (batsman), Mohammad Amir (bowler)

Diamond – Dan Christian (Australia, all-rounder), Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan, all-rounder), Imad Wasim (all-rounder)

Gold – Chadwick Walton (West Indies, batsman), Amir Yamin (batsman), Sharjeel Khan (batsman)

Silver – Joe Clarke (England, batsman), Waqas Maqsood (captain, bowler), Zeeshan Malik (batsman), Danish Aziz (batsman), Mohammad Ilyas (bowler)

Emerging – Arshad Iqbal (bowler), QasimAkram (bowler)

Optional – Noor Ahmed (Afghanistan, Left Arm of Spin)

PSL updates are coming. Stay updated and place bets on!

More in Cricket Article