Connect with us

Cricket Article

PSL 2021 Updates: Quetta seems to be a solid side with some experienced players

The 6th edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2021 is going to take place from February 20 to March 22 in Karachi and Lahore, Pakistan. Six teams are going to take part in this tournament like every year.

These six franchises have already announced the list of players included in their teams. As per regulations, Each team’s squad for this year’s PSL must have a minimum of 16 players and a maximum of 18 players  – three platinum players, three diamond players, three gold players, five silver players, two emerging players, and two (optional) players. Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi  – these six teams will once again prove their superiority by fighting in the tournament. In this article, some aspects of Quetta Gladiators, the team that finished at fifth place in the points table of the last edition are reflected.

Nadeem Omar is the owner of Quetta Gladiators. Former Pakistan cricketer Moin Khan has been appointed as the head coach of the team. Former West Indies batsman Viv Richards is the batting coach for them. Former Pakistan bowler Umar Gul is the bowling coach. England’s Julian Fountain is also there as the fielding coach.

Quetta Gladiators have made a great team in the 6th edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020. They have retained eight old players and picked up ten new players. South African batsman Cameron Delport holds the record for the second-fastest century in the league (49 balls) and the second-highest individual run-scoring innings (117*). He is there on the list of silver players of this team. Apart from that, Sarfraz Ahmed is the highest run-scorer (866) for this team and is there on the list of diamond players of this team.

Mohammad Nawaz (49) is the fourth-highest wicket-taker in the league and he is a member of this team. The record for best bowling average (18.44) and best strike rate (13.3) is held by another bowler Mohammad Hasnain of this team.

Peshawar Zalmi has won 30 matches and lost 21 matches with 1 match that has been abandoned in a total of 52 matches. The team has reached the PSL final thrice so far. They lifted the title in the fourth edition of the tournament (2019). Earlier, they were one of the finalists in the second and third consecutive editions but could not win the title. But this time they want to end the tournament by removing the stain of failure winning the title.

List of Quetta Gladiators squad:

Platinum – Chris Gayle (West Indies, batsman), Tom Banton (England, wk-batsman) Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk, batsman)

Diamond – Ben Cutting (Australia, all-rounder), Mohammad Nawaz (all-rounder), Mohammad Hasnain (bowler)

Gold Azam Khan (wk, batsman), Usman Shinwari (bowler), Naseem Shah (bowler)

Silver – Cameron Delport (South Africa, batsman), Qais Ahmed (Afghanistan, all-rounder), Anwar Ali (all-rounder), Abdul Nasir (all-rounder), Zahid Mahmood (bowler)

Emerging – Saim Ayub (batsman), Arish Ali Khan (bowler)

Optional – Dale Steyn (South Africa, bowler), Usman Khan (batsman)

PSL updates are coming. Stay updated and place bets on!

More in Cricket Article