Cricket Article

Prize money for the prestigious T20 WC 2021 announced; Winners to get USD 1.6 Million

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will start on October 17 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman. The prize money for the tournament has been announced by the governing body of the world cricket ICC. Money prizes will be allocated for the 16 teams participating in the tournament. The total prize money for the tournament is 5.6 million USD, which will be shared between the teams.

1.6 million USD has been earmarked for the champions of the tournament and the runners-up will receive half of it, which means 0.8 million USD. Each team that loses in the semifinals of the tournament will receive 400,000 USD.

Like the 2016 event, the winning team of each match in the Super 12 round will get a bonus. This time there is a prize of 40,000 USD for winning each match out of 30 matches. The total allocation of prize money here is 1.2 million USD.

Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies, who have already secured the Super 12, are guaranteed to get 70,000 USD even if they do not win a match. The total allocation of money here is 560,000 USD.

Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Sri Lanka are the eight teams that are going to compete in the first round. Where the teams will face each other in a total of 12 matches, each team will receive 40,000 USD for winning a single match. In other words, if Super 12 is confirmed after winning 3 matches, a team will get a total of 120,000 USD.

The four teams eliminated from the first round will receive 40,000 USD each. In all, the allocation of prize money for this place is 160,000 USD. The ICC also said that there would be two drinks breaks per match in the upcoming World Cup. The break will be 2 minutes and 30 seconds and this break will be taken between each inning.

Prize money of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Champions: 1.6 million USD

Runners-up: 800,000 USD

Each team loses in the semifinals: 400,000 USD

The winning team per Super Twelve: 40,000 USD

Each team eliminated from the Super Twelve: 70,000 USD

Each team eliminated from the first round: 40,000 USD


The biggest event of T20 cricket is coming up. For more updates on it, stay with Baji!

More in Cricket Article