Connect with us

Cricket Article

IPL Auction 2021 Updates: With Smith & Yadav, Delhi formed a more balanced team this season

Auction for the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was held in Chennai on Thursday, February 18. For the Covid-19 situation, 8 franchises participated in the auction in compliance with the rules of participating. 298 players were selected for this pool. 57 out of them have been sold at the auction.

Each franchise can make a team of 18 to 25 players. Where a maximum of 8 overseas players can be made available in each team. Also, franchisees were allowed to spend a maximum of Rs 85 crores to organize their teams. In this article, some aspects of Delhi Capitals are reflected.

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals (DC) has formed their team with 25 players. Where there are eight overseas players. Before the auction, DC retained 17 players from the old squad and released 8. As a result, there were vacancies for them to buy three overseas players. Former Australian cricketer Ricky Ponting is the head coach of the team & this time be the reason behind the addition of Steven Smith to the team. DC has included several potential domestic cricketers in the team at the same time.

Out of the existing Rs. 13.40 crores with DC, they have bought 8 new players in the auction spending Rs. 11.25 crores. Where there are three overseas players. They are former Australian captain Steven Smith, England bowling all-rounder Tom Curran and wicketkeeper-batsman Sam Billings. Tom Curran (5.25 crore) was the most expensive buy for the DC on the day. DC still has Rs 2.15 crores left on their purse.

The newly purchased players:

Tom Curran (England) – 5.25 crore

Steven Smith (Australia) – 2.20 crore

Sam Billings (England) – 2.00 crore

Umesh Yadav – 1.00 crore

Ripal Patel – 0.20 crore

Vishnu Vinod – 0.20 crore

Lukman Meriwala – 0.20 crore

Manimaran Siddharth – 0.20 crore

The names of the retained players: Shreyas Iyer, Shimron Hetmyer, Anrich Norje, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Marcus Stoinis, Kagiso Rabada, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Chris Woakes, Avesh Khan, Akshar Patel, Lalit Yadav and Pravin Dubey.

The IPL auction has just taken place. Follow us for knowing the important aspects of the teams & keep placing bets on!

More in Cricket Article