Cricket Article

Experienced Caribbean side to take on the new looking Aussie side on home

The Australian cricket team is now touring the West Indies for the T20I and ODI bilateral series in international cricket. The tour begins with the first T20 match on July 10 at the Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium (St. Lucia). The tour includes 5 T20Is and 3 ODIs. All the T20I matches of the series will be held at this same venue till July 17. The ODIs will be played at Kensington Oval (Bridgetown) from July 21.

The West Indies and Australia have met 11 Twenty20 matches since 2008, where West Indies has won 6, and Australia has won 5 of them. When the two teams last met in T20s in the group stage match of the 2014 T20 World Cup in Bangladesh, Caribbeans won the match by 6 wickets against Australia. However, Australia lose their last T20I series 2-3 against New Zealand.

The West Indies have lost 2-3 in their last 5-match T20I series against South Africa. However, the current champions have put together a great team this time around with experienced players and most of their players are in good form. On the other hand, Australia is coming on the field with new players on this tour. So they will lag behind the Caribbeans at least a little bit.

Moreover, the West Indies are ahead of Australia in terms of statistics. However, with the full strength of the squad, the Caribbean players are confident. Moreover, this time they are going to play in their home. So, they will try their best to make the series memorable.

Australia is ranked 5th and West Indies is ranked 8th in the ICC T20 rankings. So both teams will have to work hard in this series to improve their position in the points table.


T20I Squad:

West Indies – Kieron Pollard (c), Evin Lewis, Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Andre Fletcher, Nicholas Pooran, Hayden Walsh, Kevin Sinclair, Akeal Hosein, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Obed McCoy, Fidel Edwards

Australia – Aaron Finch (c), Wes Agar, Matthew Wade, Alex Carey, Adam Zampa, Andrew Tye, Ashton Turner, Mitchell Starc, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitchell Swepson, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Hazlewood, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Moises Henriques, Dan Christian


T20I match schedule for West Indies and Australia:

1st T20I – 10 July, Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium (St Lucia) 05:30 (GMT +6)

2nd T20I – 11 July, Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium (St Lucia) 05:30 (GMT +6)

3rd T20I – 13 July, Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium (St Lucia) 05:30 (GMT +6)

4th T20I – 15 July, Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium (St Lucia) 05:30 (GMT +6)

5th T20I – 17 July, Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium (St Lucia) 05:30 (GMT +6)


The Aussies are going to face the Caribbeans for two formats of white-ball cricket. Stay with Baji for the latest updates on it!

More in Cricket Article