Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 29 Jul: SL vs IND (3rd T20I)

SL vs IND (3rd T20I)

In the third and final match of the series in Colombo, Sri Lanka has defeated India by 7 wickets with 33 balls remaining in the game to win the series 2-1.

Coming to bat after winning the toss at the R. Premadasa Stadium on Thursday, Shikhar Dhawan got out on Golden Duck as the first Indian captain in T20I cricket. Dushmantha Chameera picked up the wicket of Dhawan while the team total was 5 runs. Then India lost 5 wickets to score just 36 runs and fell under great pressure.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Kuldeep Yadav put on 19 runs for the sixth wicket. Dasun Shanaka sent off Bhuvneshwar with a great catch off Hasaranga, Bhuvneshwar scored 16 off 32 balls. But in the end, Kuldeep’s unbeaten 28-ball 23-run innings helped India to reach 81 for 8. This is India’s third-lowest collection in T20Is. Wanindu Hasaranga took the maximum number of 4 wickets for the Lankans at the cost of only 9 runs in 4 overs.

Sri Lanka started slowly to chase the easy target. The hosts lost the first wicket for 23 runs in a great return catch by Rahul Chahar. Sri Lanka played 68 balls to complete the team’s half-century. The Lankans struggled a bit in Rahul’s 4 overs.

Sri Lanka lost 3 wickets for 56 runs in 12 overs in Rahul’s spin-attack. Then Hasaranga and Dhananjaya de Silva started to make quick runs. Hasaranga scored 14 off 9 balls and Dhananjaya scored 23 off 20 balls to ensure Sri Lanka’s victory. Rahul bowled 4 overs for India and took the highest number of 3 wickets conceding 15 runs.

India – 81/8 (20.0)
Sri Lanka 82/3 (14.3)
Result – Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
Player of the Match – Wanindu Hasaranga
Player of the Series – Wanindu Hasaranga

Sri Lanka has won the T20I series against India and gained some confidence before the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup. For more interesting cricket updates, stay with Baji!

More in Cricket Article