Connect with us

Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 28 Mar: IND vs ENG (3rd ODI), NZ vs BAN (1st T20I)

The 3rd ODI and final between India & England and the 1st T20I between Bangladesh & New Zealand rolled on the field yesterday. Let’s have a look to know about the exciting moments of the matches.

IND vs ENG (3rd ODI)

In the third and final ODI of the series in Pune, India beat England by 7 runs in their team performance. In this series decider match, India managed to put up 329 for the loss of all wickets with 10 balls to spare after losing the toss and batting first. Apart from wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant (78), opener Shikhar Dhawan (67) and Hardik Pandya (64) also contributed to the great innings. The pair of Pant and Hardik was especially great. They scored 99 runs off 70 balls for the fifth wicket with their decent batting skills. Pant picked up the third and Hardik picked up the seventh half-centuries of their ODI career. Both of them smashed 5 fours and 4 sixes. Fast bowler Mark Wood has taken the most number of 3 wickets for England.

England fell under pressure in the Indian pacers’ bowling aggression from the outset to chase this huge target. They lost 4 wickets to make 95 runs in the first 15 overs. Later it became more dangerous. The visitors were knocked out of the match after losing 7 wickets to put up 200 runs to the scoreboard. Then in the eighth wicket, Sam Curran and Adil Rashid’s 57-run partnership brought England back in the match.

When Adil Rashid returned to the dressing room, Sam Curran and Mark Wood put on a bold 60-run stand for the ninth wicket. Relying on this pair of them, they came significantly  closer to the goal. But in the end, England could not secure the smile of victory. The visitors’ innings stopped at 322, just seven runs away from the target. Sam Curran played an impeccable inning of 95 runs off 83 balls hitting 9 fours and 3 sixes. Shardul Thakur (4-67, 10 overs) was the highest wicket-taker for India.

With this win, India clinches the ODI series (2-1) along with the Test (3-1) and T20I series (3-2). All the series’s results favoured India, but the results also depict the English players’ intent.


India – 329/10 (48.2)

England – 322/9 (50.0)

Result – India won by 7 runs

Player of the Match – Sam Curran

Player of the Series – Jonny Bairstow

NZ vs BAN (1st T20I)

In the first T20 match of the series in Hamilton, New Zealand got a big victory of 66 runs against Bangladesh courtesy of the devastating innings of Devon Conway. Winning the toss and choosing to bat, the debutant Kiwi opener Finn Allen lost his wicket in the first over. Then Devon Conway came to the wicket and formed a partnership with Martin Guptill. When Guptill (35) returned to the dressing room, another debutant batsman Will Young came on the wicket.

Conway and Young’s 105-run stand brought the hosts closer to set up a big target. Will Young returned scoring 53 off 30 balls, but Devon Conway played a devastating inning of unbeaten 92 off 52 balls with 11 fours and 3 sixes. In the end, New Zealand put up a big score of 210 runs thanks to a stormy inning of 24 runs off 10 balls by Glenn Phillips. Nasum Ahmed took the highest 2 wickets for Bangladesh.

Chasing this huge target, the Bangladeshi batsman lost 4 wickets to score 44 runs in six overs of the power play by dint of the Kiwi bowlers’ aggressive bowling. Spinner Ish Sodhi’s great spell broke the Tigers’ middle-order like a house of cards. As a result, the visitors lost 8 wickets and stopped at 144 runs. Where Afif Hossain (45) scored the highest runs for the team. Ish Sodhi took the most wickets for the hosts (4-28, 4 overs).

New Zealand won the first match of the 3-match T20 series and went ahead 1-0. The second match will be played on March 30 at the McLean Park Stadium in Napier.


New Zealand – 210/3 (20.0)

Bangladesh – 144/8 (20.0)

Result – New Zealand won by 66 runs

Player of the Match – Devon Conway


Amazing cricket actions are rolling on the field and is providing great opportunities to make money through betting on the matches. Predict the winners and place bets with us.

More in Cricket Article