Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 25 Jul: ZIM vs BAN (3rd T20I), SL vs IND (1st T20I)

The 3rd and final T20I of the 3-match series between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, the 1st T20I of the 3-match series between India and Sri Lanka rolled on the field yesterday. Let’s have a glimpse at the article to know about the interesting happenings of the games.

ZIM vs BAN (3rd T20I)

Bangladesh has also won the T20I series by defeating Zimbabwe by 5 wickets in the third and final match in Harare. Playing for a big target of 194 runs, the Tigers reached the port of victory with the skill of Soumya Sarkar’s all-rounding performance.

After winning the toss in Sunday’s series-determining match, Zimbabwe went down to bat and lost 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs, they ended up scoring 193 runs. Wesley Madhevere and Regis Chakabva played two devastating innings for the team. Madhevere scored 54 off 36 balls hitting 6 fours and Chakabva scored 48 off 22 balls with 6 sixes. In the end, courtesy of Ryan Burl’s stormy innings of 31 runs from 15 balls smashing 3 fours and 2 sixes, the hosts got a huge collection. Soumya Sarkar took the highest number of wickets for Bangladesh (2-19, 3 overs).

The Tigers got off to a great start coming down to bat for a big target of 194 runs. They lost one wicket in 6 overs of Powerplay and picked up 50 runs. Mohammad Naim (3), Shakib Al Hasan (25), and Afif Hossain (14) returned to the dressing room but Soumya and Mahmudullah brought the team closer to victory. Soumya scored 68 runs off 49 balls smashing 9 fours and 1 six. Mahmudullah made 34 runs from 28 balls. In the end, the visitors reached the port of victory with four balls in hand thanks to a stormy inning of 31 runs playing only 15 balls in 6 boundaries by Shamim Hossain.

Blessing Muzarabani and Luke Jongwe took two wickets each for Zimbabwe. Soumya Sarkar became the player of the match by showing great all-rounding skills. He also won the player of the series award being named as man of the match twice in the three-match T20I series.

The Tigers won the T20I series 2-1. Earlier, the visitors defeated the hosts in the one-off Test. They also whitewashed Zimbabwe in the three-match ODI series.

Zimbabwe – 193/5 (20.0)
Bangladesh 194/5 (19.2)
Result – Bangladesh won by 5 wickets
Player of the Match – Soumya Sarkar
Player of the Series – Soumya Sarkar

SL vs IND (1st T20I)

After winning the ODI series, the second-ranked Indian team also started with a win in the T20I series. In the first match of the series, the visitors have defeated the Lankans by 38 runs. India has taken a 1-0 lead in the three-match series with this victory.

After losing the toss at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, India scored 164 for 5 in the allotted 20 overs. Suryakumar Yadav scored a half-century for the team. He played an innings of 50 runs from 34 balls hitting 5 fours and 2 sixes. Captain Shikhar Dhawan played an innings of 46 off 36 balls. Dushmantha Chameera and Wanindu Hasaranga took the maximum number of 2 wickets each for the Lankans.

Sri Lanka was bowled out for 126 playing for the target of 165. Charith Asalanka’s 44 off 26 balls and Avishka Fernando’s 26 off 23 balls made the Lankans hopeful, but Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s bowling fierce shattered the Sri Lankan batting order. They lost the last 6 wickets within 15 runs to score from 111 to 126. In the end, Sri Lanka was bowled out for 126 in 18.3 overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the player of the match with picking up 4 wickets for just 22 runs in 3.3 overs. Deepak Chahar also took two wickets.

India – 164/5 (20.0)
Sri Lanka 126/10 (18.3)
Result – India won by 38 runs
Player of the Match – Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Amazing cricket matches are going on across the globe. Stay with Baji for more news on them!

More in Cricket Article