Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 23 Jun: IND vs NZ (WTC Final – Day 6), ENG vs SL (1st T20I)

The 6th day of the ICC World Test Championship Final between India and New Zealand, and the 1st match of the T20I series between England and Sri Lanka rolled on the field yesterday. Let’s have a glimpse over the article to know about the exciting moments of the match.

IND vs NZ (WTC Final – Day 6)

New Zealand defeated India by 8 wickets on the 6th day of the final of the first-ever ICC World Test Championship. In other words, the Black Caps have become the first world champions in Test cricket.

The Indians fought a bit in the first innings, but Virat Kohli’s side could not stand in front of the Kiwi pacers in the second innings. Kohli and Pujara came to the wickets at the beginning of the 6th day. Kohli made 13 runs and Pujara was out for 15 runs. Rishabh Pant tried to resist a bit. He played 88 balls and scored 41 runs. Rabindra Jadeja scored 16 runs.

Ravichandran Ashwin scored 7 runs and Mohammad Shami scored 13 runs. Ishant Sharma remained unbeaten on 1 run. Jaspreet Bumrah was dismissed without scoring a run and India was all out for 170 runs. As a result, a target of 139 runs in 53 overs was set for New Zealand.

As always, the New Zealand pacers set fire to Edgbaston. Experienced Tim Southee took 4 wickets. Trent Boult took 3 wickets. Kyle Jamison, who took 5 wickets in the previous innings, has taken 2 wickets in this innings. Neil Wegner took the rest of the one wicket.

Coming down to chase the target, two openers Tom Latham (9) and Devon Conway (19) tried to play with some rest. Both of them got dismissed for being confused with Ashwin’s whirlwind, but this seemed to be good for New Zealand.

Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor teamed up when the team total was 44 runs. After that, the Indian bowlers could not separate them. On the contrary, due to the perseverance of these two batsmen and increasing the speed of the run, the Kiwis took the match into their hands with about 7 overs left in the day.

Kane Williamson remained unbeaten on 52 off 89 balls. Ross Taylor remained unbeaten on 47 off 100 balls. Ravichandran Ashwin took 2 wickets for India.

India (1st Innings) 217/10 (92.1)
New Zealand (1st Innings) 249/10 (99.2)
India (2nd Innings) 170/10 (73.0)
New Zealand (2nd Innings) 140/2 (45.5)
Player of the Match – Kyle Jamieson

ENG vs SL (1st T20I)

Jason Roy and Jos Butler batted hard in the first T20 match of the series at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff on Wednesday night (June 23) to give England an eight-wicket win over Sri Lanka. After winning the toss and opting to bat first, the Lankans started losing wickets from the start. They lost 4 wickets to make 52 runs. When captain Kushal Perera, who scored 30 runs departed when the team total was 79, Dasun Shanaka took the helm of the batting disaster.

The all-rounder picked up a half-century with his great batting. He scored 50 off 43 balls with three fours and two sixes before getting out on the last ball. Sri Lanka scored 129 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Sam Curran and Adil Rashid took 2 wickets each for England. Mark Wood, Chris Jordan, and Liam Livingstone also took one wicket each.

Jason Roy and Jos Butler, the two English openers, got off to a flying start while batting for that easy target given by the Lankans. Roy batted devastatingly from the start. Together they made 61 runs in 6 overs. Roy played a devastating inning of 36 off 22 balls before Dushmantha Chameera took his wicket while the team total was 80 runs. After that Dawid Malan returned to the dressing room after being the victim of Udana with only 7 runs. Butler, however, picked up a half-century with a stormy innings at the other end.

The English wicketkeeper played an unbeaten 68 run innings hitting 8 fours and a 6 playing 55 balls, courtesy of which England won the match by 8 wickets with 17 balls to spare. His partner Bairstow remained unbeaten on 13 off 12 balls.

Sri Lanka 129/7 (20.0)
England – 130/2 (17.1)
Result – England won by 8 wickets
Player of the Match – Jos Buttler

New Zealand has become the first-ever Champions of the ICC World Test Championship, let’s take a moment and appreciate their performance. With the PSL final coming up today, predict the winner of it and play on Baji!

More in Cricket Article