Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 23 Jul: ZIM vs BAN (2nd T20I), SL vs IND (3rd ODI)

The 2nd T20I of the 3-match series between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe & the 3rd and last ODI of the 3-match series between Sri Lanka and India rolled on the field yesterday. Let’s have a glimpse at the article to know about the interesting happenings of the games.

ZIM vs BAN (2nd T20I)

Zimbabwe gave Bangladesh a target of 167 runs in the second T20I match of the 3-match series at the Sports Club ground in Harare on Friday. The Tigers’ innings was stopped at 143 runs. Thus the hosts won by 23 runs.

After winning the toss and choosing to bat first, with Wesley Madhevere’s innings of 73 playing 57 balls in 5 fours and 3 sixes, and courtesy of Ryan Burl’s stormy 34-run innings off 19 balls in 2 fours and 2 sixes, Zimbabwe scored 166 runs for the loss of 6 wickets. Shoriful Islam took the maximum number of 3 wickets for Bangladesh. Besides, Shakib Al Hasan and Mahedi Hasan took 1 wicket each.

Bangladesh lost two wickets to score 17 runs after batting for the target of 167 runs. Mohammad Naim and Saumya Sarkar returned with 5 and 8 runs respectively. After that Shakib (12) left the field with a catch by Sikandar Raza for the team’s 45 runs and captain Mahmudullah was dismissed scoring only 4 runs. Mahedi (15) got out for the team’s 53 runs. Bangladesh team lost 3 wickets within 8 runs and fell under a lot of pressure. 

Later Mohammad Saifuddin tried but it only reduced the gap. Saifuddin returned to the dressing room with a personal score of 19 runs. Bangladesh was all out for 143 runs in the innings. Zimbabwe left the field with a victory of 23 runs. Wellington Masakadza and Luke Jongwe took the 3 wickets each for the hosts. Besides, Blessing Muzarabani and Tendai Chatara took 2 wickets each.

After winning this match, Zimbabwe has got the victory for the first time in the full series of the two teams. The hosts kept the series alive with the hope of winning the T20 series.


Zimbabwe – 166/6 (20.0)

Bangladesh 143/10 (19.5)

Result – Zimbabwe won by 23 runs

Player of the Match – Wesley Madhevere

SL vs IND (3rd ODI)

Hosts Sri Lanka avoided whitewash by defeating India in the third and final ODI of the three-match series. They beat India by three wickets at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Friday.

Rain insisted the match be reduced to 47 overs. India got off to a good start batting first after winning the toss. But the visitors were knocked out of the match by the spinning duo Praveen Jayawickrama and Akila Dananjaya. None of the Indian team batsmen could pass fifty. Prithvi Shaw has scored the highest 49 runs. Later, Sanju Samson (46) and Suryakumar Yadav (40) helped India to reach 225 losing all of the wickets in 43.1 overs. Jayawickrama and Dananjaya took the maximum of 3 wickets each for the Lankans.

The Sri Lankans got off to a good start with Avishka Fernando’s batting coming down to chase 226 runs. Although Minod Bhanuka returned for 35 runs, Avishka and Bhanuka Rajapaksa paved the way for Sri Lanka’s victory by scoring 109 runs for the second wicket partnership. Rajapaksa played an innings of 65 runs from 56 balls. Avishka played an innings of 76 runs. In the end, Sri Lanka won the match by three wickets and 8 overs in hand.

India had already secured a series win by winning two matches. Sri Lanka’s Avishka Fernando has been awarded as the player in the match. Besides, India’s Suryakumar Yadav has been named as the player of the series.


India – 225/10 (43.1)

Sri Lanka 227/7 (39.0)

Result – Sri Lanka won by 3 wickets (DLS method)

Player of the Match – Avishka Fernando

Player of the Series – Suryakumar Yadav


Amazing cricket matches are going on across the globe. Stay with Baji for more news on them!

More in Cricket Article