Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 20 Jul: ZIM vs BAN (3rd ODI), SL vs IND (2nd ODI), ENG vs PAK (3rd T20I)

The 3rd and final ODI of the 3-match series between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, the 2nd ODI of the 3-match series between India and Sri Lanka and the 3rd and final T20I of the 3-match series between England and Pakistan rolled on the field yesterday. Let’s have a glimpse at the article to know about the interesting happenings of the games.

ZIM vs BAN (3rd ODI)

In the third and final ODI of the series in Harare, Bangladesh got a great victory of 5 wickets with 2 overs in hand against the host Zimbabwe. The Tigers also have whitewashed Zimbabwe in the three-match ODI series with this win.

After losing the toss and choosing to bat first, thanks to Regis Chakabva’s 84 off 91 balls, Sikandar Raza’s 57 off 54 balls, and Ryan Burl’s 59 off 43 balls Zimbabwe collected a hefty total of 298 runs losing all their wickets in the allotted 50 overs. Mustafizur Rahman and Mohammad Saifuddin took the most number of 3 wickets each for Bangladesh. Besides, Mahmudullah took 2 wickets and Taskin Ahmed and Shakib Al Hasan took 1 wicket each.

Openers Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das gave Bangladesh a good start coming down to chase the big target of 299 runs. Liton returned to the dressing room scoring 32 runs, but Tamim scored the 14th century of his ODI career to bring the team closer to victory. In 8 fours and 3 sixes, the batsman returned to the pavilion after playing a great inning of 112 runs playing 97 balls. Shakib and Mohammad Mithun both contributed 30 runs to the team’s victory.

In the end, Nurul Hasan’s unbeaten 45 off 39 balls and Afif Hossain’s unbeaten 26 off 17 balls helped Bangladesh reach the desired victory with 12 balls to spare. Wesley Madhevere and Donald Tiripano took two wickets each for Zimbabwe.

Tamim Iqbal, who played a great innings of 112 runs, has been named as the player of the match award. And the player of the series award has gone to Shakib Al Hasan.


Zimbabwe – 298/10 (49.3)

Bangladesh 302/5 (48.0)

Result – Bangladesh won by 5 wickets

Player of the Match – Tamim Iqbal

Player of the Series – Shakib Al Hasan

SL vs IND (2nd ODI)

Batting first at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka scored 275 for 9 in 50 overs in the second ODI of the 3-match series. In reply, Deepak Chahar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave India a 3-wicket win with an unbroken 84-run stand for the eighth wicket.

After winning the toss and choosing to bat first, Sri Lanka scored 275 runs thanks to opener Avishka Fernando and Charith Asalanka fifty. Avishka played an innings of 50 off 71 balls and Asalanka scored 65 off 68 balls. Besides, Minod Bhanuka scored 36 off 42 balls and Dhananjaya De Silva scored 32 off 45 balls. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Yuzvendra Chahal both took three wickets for India.

Coming down to chase the target, India lost 3 wickets to score 65 runs and fell in danger. Suryakumar Yadav played an effective inning of 53 runs off just 44 balls. Manish Pandey scored 37 and Krunal Pandya scored 35 runs to contribute some runs in the chase. But Hardik Pandya (0) disappointed everyone on the day.

Then the rest of the story is about Chahar and Bhuvneshwar. The record-breaking victory came with a pair of 84 runs off 84 balls made by these two. Chahar was unbeaten on 69 with 7 fours and 1 six when he left the field after winning the match. Bhuvneshwar scored an unbeaten 19 off 28 balls. Wanindu Hasaranga took the most wickets for Sri Lanka (3-37, 10 overs).

Before scoring 69 runs with the bat, Deepak Chahar also snapped up 2 wickets and for this all-rounding performance, he got the man of the match award.


Sri Lanka 275/9 (50.0)

India – 277/7 (49.1)

Result – India won by 3 wickets

Player of the Match – Deepak Chahar

ENG vs PAK (3rd T20I)

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first at Old Trafford in Manchester on Tuesday night, they managed to score 154 runs losing 6 wickets. England lost 7 wickets in reply and reached the port of victory 2 balls earlier. At the same time, the hosts won the series 2-1.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan is credited with bringing Pakistan to 154 runs. Playing from the beginning to the end of the innings, the right-handed opener has scored 76 runs off 57 balls with 5 fours and 3 sixes. The second-highest score of 24 off 20 balls came from Fakhar Zaman’s bat. Legspinner Adil Rashid (4-35, 4 overs) is the highest wicket-taker for England.

Right-handed opener Jason Roy gave England a flying start as they chased down the run. Before returning to the dressing room in the 11th over of the innings, Jason played a stormy inning of 64 runs smashing 12 fours and 1 six, he played only 36 balls to make that score. However, another opener Joss Butler hit 21 off 22 balls and David Malan’s slow innings of 31 off 33 balls put England under some pressure to chase the target. Later, however, the English won the match courtesy of a cameo inning of 21 off 12 balls by captain Eoin Morgan.

However, Jason Roy, who played a stormy inning of 64 runs, won the player of the match award and the player of the series award went to Liam Livingstone.


Pakistan 154/6 (20.0)

England – 155/7 (19.4)

Result – England won by 3 wickets 

Player of the Match – Jason Roy

Player of the Series – Liam Livingstone


International cricket is ongoing with some alluring battle of bat and ball. Stay with Baji for more latest updates on cricket!

More in Cricket Article