Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 15 Sept: CPL 2021 (Final)

The final match of the CPL 2021 between St Lucia Kings and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots rolled on the field yesterday. Continue reading the article to know about the exciting happenings of the game.

CPL 2021 – Final (St Lucia Kings vs St Kitts and Nevis Patriots)

St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots have won the title of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) for the first time defeating the St. Lucia Kings. The Patriots won by 3 wickets in the final match at Warner Park in St. Kitts on Wednesday.

The St. Lucia Kings won the toss and elected to bat first. They lost 7 wickets in 20 overs and scored 159 runs. Rahkeem Cornwall and Roston Chase both scored 43 runs. Besides, Keemo Paul played a stormy inning of 39 runs playing 21 balls. Fawad Ahmed and Naseem Shah took the maximum number of two wickets each for the Patriots.

Chris Gayle, known as ‘Universe Boss’, returned to the dressing room being bowled before opening the scoring book to chase the target of 160 runs. Evin Lewis (6) also returned while the team total was 26 runs. The Patriots then returned to the match by some decent batting of Joshua Da Silva (37) and Sherfane Rutherford (25). The duo and skipper Dwayne Bravo (8) scored 95 runs losing 5 wickets in 14 overs. From there, Dominic Drakes and Fabian Allen led the team to victory. Allen left with 20 off 18 balls, but Drakes left the field after winning the title with 48 off 24 balls.

The Patriots needed 9 runs in the last over to win. Kesrick Williams made only 2 runs in the first three balls of that over. Drakes took 2 runs in the fourth ball and smashed a boundary in the fifth ball. And with one run in the last ball, Drakes brought a stunning victory. For this, he was also named as the player of the match. Roston Chase has been awarded the player of the series.


St Lucia Kings – 159/7 (20.0)

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots – 160/7 (20.0)

Result – St Kitts & Nevis Patriots won by 3 wickets

Player of the match – Dominic Drakes

Player of the series – Roston Chase


St Kitts & Nevis Patriots have clinched the CPL title this time. As much more exciting cricket actions come up, stay with Baji!

More in Cricket Article