Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 15 Oct: IPL 2021 (Final)

The final match of the IPL 2021 between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders rolled on the field yesterday. Continue reading the article to know about the interesting happenings of the game.

IPL 2021 – Final (Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders)

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 27 runs in the final match of IPL 2021 at Dubai International Stadium and lifted their 4th IPL title.

Batting first after losing the toss on Friday, CSK lost 3 wickets in 20 overs and collected a huge score of 192 runs. For the team, opener Faf du Plessis hit 7 fours and 3 sixes, he played the best-scoring innings of 86 from 59 balls. Another opener Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 32 runs. In the end, Moeen Ali and Robin Uthappa played two stormy innings scoring 37 off 20 balls and 31 off 15 balls respectively. For KKR, Sunil Narine took the maximum number of 2 wickets and Shivam Mavi took 1 wicket.

KKR’s two young openers Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer got off to a good start after coming down to chase the huge target of 193 runs. The duo put on 91 runs in 10.3 overs. At that time Shardul Thakur brought the first breakthrough for CSK. He sent off Venkatesh to the dressing room, who scored 50 off 32 balls with 5 fours and 3 sixes. Then Gill returned to the pavilion scoring 51 off 43 balls.

After his departure, KKR’s innings seemed to collapse like a house of cards. After the two openers, the highest 20 runs came from the bat of Shivam Mavi, who came down to bat at number ten. KKR’s innings ended at 165 for 9 in the allotted 20 overs. Shardul Thakur scalped the maximum number of 3 wickets for CSK. Josh Hazlewood and Ravindra Jadeja took two wickets each while Dwayne Bravo and Deepak Chahar took one wicket each.

CSK has played in the final 10 times in the history of IPL and has won the title four times. Mumbai Indians have won the title 5 times, which is the most number by any franchise. And this is the first time KKR has lost in an IPL final. They had reached the final twice before, where they had won the title both times.

Chennai Super Kings – 192/3 (20.0)
Kolkata Knight Riders – 165/9 (20.0)
Result – Chennai Super Kings won by 27 runs
Player of the match – Faf du Plessis
Player of the series – Harshal Patel

Chennai Super Kings have outplayed Kolkata Knight Riders to clinch the title of the 14th edition of IPL. For more updates on cricket games, stay with Baji!

More in Cricket Article