Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 01 & 02 Sept: CPL 2021 (Match 11 & 12), BAN vs NZ (1st T20I)

The 11th match of the CPL 2021 between Trinbago Knight Riders and Guyana Amazon Warriors, the 12th match of the CPL 2021 between Jamaica Tallawahs and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots & the 1st T20I of the 5-match series between Bangladesh and New Zealand rolled on the field yesterday and today morning. Continue reading the article to know about the exciting happenings of the games.

CPL 2021 Match 11 (Trinbago Knight Riders vs Guyana Amazon Warriors)

Guyana Amazon Warriors have won the 11th match of the CPL against Trinbago Knight Riders in Super Over. Batting on the 7-run target given by the Warriors in the Super Over, the Knight Riders could not score more than 4 runs due to the great bowling of Romario Shepherd. As a result, the Warriors picked up their second win in the tournament.

After losing the toss, the Knight Riders were sent to bat first and lost 9 wickets in 20 overs to make 138 runs. Colin Munro scored the highest 32 runs for the team. In the end, Isuru Udana scored 21 off 9 balls to get this team score. Mohammad Hafeez and Shepherd took a maximum number of 3 wickets each for the Warriors.

The Warriors came under pressure from the very beginning to bat for an easy target of 139 runs. The team lost 3 wickets to make only 40 runs in 9 overs in the great bowling of the Knight Riders bowlers. In the end, Nicholas Pooran (27) and Shepherd (18) tried but could not reach the port of victory. The Warriors lost 9 wickets and stopped at 138 runs. After that, the Warriors ensured their victory in the Super Over.

Trinbago Knight Riders – 138/9 (20.0)
Guyana Amazon Warriors – 138/9 (20.0)
Result – Match tied (Guyana Amazon Warriors won by Super Over)
Player of the match – Romario Shepherd

CPL 2021 Match 12 (Jamaica Tallawahs vs St Kitts & Nevis Patriots)

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots have got triumph in the 12th match of the CPL 2021 by 6 wickets against Jamaica Tallawahs. After losing the toss, Tallawahs batted first and scored 166 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Carlos Brathwaite played the highest innings of 27 runs for the team. Chadwick Walton scored 26 and Rovman Powell 24 runs. Dwayne Bravo took the most wickets for the Patriots (3-25, 4 overs).

Chasing the target of 167 runs, the Patriots lost 2 wickets in 6 overs of the power play and scored 52 runs. After that Evin Lewis (39) and Ravi Bopara (18) went back to the dressing room but Sherfane Rutherford and Fabian Allen kept the team in the fight. Courtesy of devastating innings by Rutherford (50 off 26 balls) and Allen (30 off 12 balls), the Patriots achieved their goal with 14 balls to spare after losing 4 wickets.

The Patriots are now at the top of the points table with their fourth win in a row and after being defeated, Tallawahs is at second place.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots – 166/8 (20.0)
Jamaica Tallawahs – 169/4 (17.4)
Result – St Kitts & Nevis Patriots won by 6 wickets
Player of the match – Sherfane Rutherford

BAN vs NZ (1st T20I)

Bangladesh cricket team has made a new history by defeating New Zealand in T20I cricket for the first time. The Tigers defeated the Kiwis by 7 wickets in the first match of the five-match T20I series at the Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Wednesday. This is Bangladesh’s first win against the Kiwis in the shortest format of cricket.

After winning the toss and coming down to bat first, New Zealand got bowled out for just 60 runs. Henry Nicholls and Tom Latham scored 18 runs each but no other Kiwi batsman could score double figures. The ‘cutter master’ Mustafizur Rahman snapped up the most number of 3 wickets for Bangladesh. Saifuddin, Nasum Ahmed, and Shakib Al Hasan took 2 wickets each.

Chasing an easy target of 61 runs, Bangladesh lost 3 wickets and reached the victory port in just 15 overs. World-class all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan played the highest innings of 25 runs for the team. Mr. dependable Mushfiqur Rahim remained unbeaten on 16 and captain Mahmudullah on 14.

Bangladesh had earlier lost 10 consecutive T20I matches against New Zealand. Now, the Tigers have come out victorious in the 11th match.

New Zealand 60/10 (16.5)
Bangladesh – 62/3 (15.0)
Result – Bangladesh won by 7 wickets
Player of the Match – Shakib Al Hasan

Amazing T20I battles in international cricket alongside franchise cricket are ongoing. For regular updates on them, stay with Baji!

More in Cricket Article