Cricket Article

Cricket Free Tips | BBL 2021/22, Match 2: Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat

Sydney Thunder will lock horns with the Brisbane Heat in the 2nd match of the BBL 2021/22. On paper, the Sydney Thunder seem to be a formidable opponent, and they will be anxious to get off to a winning start. They finished last year’s voyage with a 7-wicket loss to Brisbane Heat in the knockout game and will be looking to avenge that defeat. Alex Hales had a fantastic season last year and is looking forward to doing so again.

Last year, the Brisbane Heat had a fantastic tournament until the Perth Scorchers defeated them by 49 runs (D/L Method) in Challenger. This year, they have a well-balanced lineup and hope to get their season off to a good start with a win. They heavily depend on Chris Lynn and Mujeeb ur Rahman.


Both sides could expect overcast weather when they arrive at the venue. Temperatures will likely range from 12~21°C, and rain delays could put a damper on an exciting day of cricket for both teams’ fans.


The batting surface at Manuka Oval is excellent. Once the hitters have their eyes in, they can play their shots. The bowlers must be consistent in their lines and lengths to keep the scoring pace under control. Teams who win the toss will look to chase on this surface. The team batting first will attempt to reach roughly 170 runs. The bowlers must change their pace wisely to get the hitters to make a mistake.


Probable Playing XIs
Sydney Thunder:
Chris Green (c), Sam Billings (wk), Alex Hales, Tanveer Sangha, Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Saqib Mahmood, Daniel Sams, Ben Cutting, Alex Ross, Arjun Nair
Brisbane Heat:
Chris Lynn (c), Jimmy Peirson (wk), Joe Burns, Ben Duckett, Tom Abell, Jack Wildermuth, Sam Heazlett, Ben Laughlin, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Xavier Bartlett, Mark Steketee


Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat – Match 2, Dream 11:
Alex Hales (c), Jimmy Peirson (wk), Sam Billings (wk), Tom Cooper, Ben Cutting, Chris Lynn, Jack Wildermuth, Daniel Sams, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Matt Kuhnemann, Tanveer Sangha


Match winner

  • Brisbane Heat

Winning the toss

  • Brisbane Heat

Top Batsman

  • Sydney Thunder – Alex Hales
  • Brisbane Heat – Chris Lynn

Top Bowler

  • Sydney Thunder – Tanveer Sangha
  • Brisbane Heat – Mark Steketee

Most Sixes 

  • Sydney Thunder – Sam Billings
  • Brisbane Heat – Chris Lynn

Player of the Match

  • Brisbane Heat – Chris Lynn

Team Scores Batting First 

  • Sydney Thunder – 180+
  • Brisbane Heat – 190


The Brisbane Heat is a well-balanced team that has beaten the Sydney Thunder, and they are the clear favourites to win this match. If the Thunder want to defeat an aggressive Brisbane Heat team, they will rely on their bowling and top order. 

More in Cricket Article