Connect with us

Cricket Article

BBL Match Highlights: The Strikers gets lucky as the Sixers defeats the Stars

The 56th match of the Big Bash League 2020/21 (BBL 10) was an exciting match between the Melbourne Stars and the Sydney Sixers on Tuesday (January 26) night at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The Sydney Sixers beat their opponent, the Melbourne Stars by 5 wickets.

After winning the flip-bat, Sydney Sixers captain Moises Henriques decided to bowl and sent the Melbourne Stars to bat.

In the beginning, the batsmen of Stars were playing carefully to the bowlers of Sixers. But the whole scenario changed when Maxwell came to the crease. On one hand, Maxwell’s power-hitting & on the other hand, Dwarshuis’s great bowling spell was seen, and the Stars managed to get 177 for 6 in their fixed 20 overs, Glenn Maxwell (66) was the highest run-getter for the Stars and Ben Dwarshuis (3-26) was the highest wicket-taker for the Sixers. If Sean Abbott hadn’t sent Maxwell back to the dressing room, maybe 20 more runs would have been added to the Stars’ scoreboard.

The Sixers lost 2 wickets in the first two overs while came into bat chasing a target of 178 runs in the second innings. However, the third wicket partnership of 76 runs led them to victory. Daniel Christian’s unbeaten 49 off 23 balls showed the Sixers the way to victory with one ball to spare and the Stars missed the chance for playing in the playoffs. Daniel Christian (49*) was the top-scorer for the Sixers and Nathan Coulter-Nile (1-35) was the best performer with the ball for the Stars.

The Sydney Sixers moved up from 2nd place to 1st place in the points table and the Melbourne Stars finished their campaign in 7th place after losing the match. However, the Adelaide Strikers have secured their place as the 5th team in the play-offs after the defeat of the Stars.

Playing XIs:

Melbourne Stars – Marcus Stoinis, Nick Larkin, Nic Maddinson, Seb Gotch (wk), Glenn Maxwell (c), Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, Zahir Khan, Sam Rainbird, Billy Stanlake.

Sydney Sixers – Josh Philippe (wk), Daniel Hughes, Jordan Silk, James Vince, Moises Henriques (c), Daniel Christian, Carlos Brathwaite, Ben Dwarshuis, Jake Ball, Sean Abbott, Steve OKeefe.


Melbourne Stars – 177/6 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Stoinis, 2.2 over); 2-36 (Seb Gotch, 5.3 over); 3-46 (Larkin, 7.4 over); 4-90 (Nic Maddinson, 11.6 over); 5-146 (Glenn Maxwell, 17.4 over); 6-157 (Coulter-Nile, 18.6 over)

Sydney Sixers – 180/5 (19.5)

Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Josh Philippe, 0.5 over); 2-9 (Daniel Hughes, 1.2 over); 3-84 (James Vince, 9.5 over); 4-101 (Moises Henriques, 12.1 over); 5-103 (Carlos Brathwaite, 12.6 over)

Result – Sydney Sixers won by 5 wkts

Player of the Match – Ben Dwarshuis

BBL is shifting, it’s gear as the playoffs are nearby. Predict the winners and place bets on!


More in Cricket Article