Cricket Article

BBL Match Highlights: The Sixers lifts their third BBL trophy by dint of Vince classic

An exciting final match of the Big Bash League 2020/21 (BBL 10) between Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers took place on the night of February 6 (Saturday) at the Sydney Cricket Ground (Sydney). The Sydney Sixers won by a margin of 27 runs against their opponent Perth Scorchers.

Perth Scorchers captain Ashton Turner decided to field after winning the flip-bat and sent the Sydney Sixers to bat.

James Vince, the opener of the Sixers, started to attack the Scorchers’ bowlers as soon as they came down to bat. The bowlers of Scorchers seemed to be helpless in his great batting. Although the bowlers take wickets from one side, James Vince stood on the wicket on the other side. The Sixers lost 3 wickets in 15 overs and scored 140 runs, and James Vince lost his wicket being caught by Mitchell Marsh on Fawad Ahmed’s ball. He played a devastating inning of 95 runs facing 60 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes. The Sixers then lost six wickets in 20 overs and threw a challenging target of 189 runs to the Scorchers. Andrew Tye (2-29, 4 overs) and Jhye Richardson (2-45, 4 overs) took two wickets each for the Scorchers.

Coming down to Bat in reply, Scorchers’ two openers Cameron Bancroft and Liam Livingstone got off to a good start. They took 43 runs without losing any wicket in the first four overs. But thanks to the great bowling line-up of the Sixers, the batsmen of the Scorchers continued to lose wickets at regular intervals. In the end, by dint of the destructive efforts of bowlers of the Sixers, the Scorchers lost 9 wickets in 20 overs and scored 161 runs. At the same time, Perth Scorchers finished the event by becoming the runners-up of BBL 10. Liam Livingstone (45) was the highest run-scorer for the team and Ben Dwarshuis was the highest wicket-taker for the Sixers (3-37, 4 overs).

The winner of the Big Bash League 2020/21 (BBL 10) is now the Sydney Sixers. With this, the Sydney Sixers become the champions for the consecutive two times in the Big Bash League. However, the Sydney Sixers have won the Big Bash League three times so far. Two of which have been in the last two seasons and another in the first edition of the Big Bash League.

Playing XIs:

Sydney Sixers – Josh Philippe (wk), Daniel Hughes, Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, James Vince, Moises Henriques (c), Carlos Brathwaite, Ben Dwarshuis, Jackson Bird, Sean Abbott, Steve OKeefe.

Perth Scorchers – Cameron Bancroft, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis (wk), Ashton Turner (c), Liam Livingstone, Colin Munro, Aaron Hardie, Andrew Tye, Fawad Ahmed, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff.


Sydney Sixers – 188/6 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Philippe, 3.3 over), 2-66 (Hughes, 7.4 over), 3-114 (Henriques, 12.6 over), 4-140 (Vince, 15.1 over), 5-177 (Christian, 18.6 over), 6-188 (Brathwaite, 19.6 over)

Perth Scorchers – 161/9 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-45 (Bancroft, 4.5 over), 2-56 (Munro, 6.4 over), 3-95 (Livingstone, 10.6 over), 4-116 (Marsh, 14.2 over), 5-117 (Inglis, 14.4 over), 6-142 (Turner, 17.1 over), 7-157 (Hardie, 18.3 over), 8-159 (Tye, 19.3 over), 9-160 (Behrendorff, 19.5 over)

Result – Sydney Sixers won by 27 runs

Player of the Match – James Vince

Player of the Series – Josh Philippe

The BBL-10 has come to an end. But a lot of international series and T20 tournaments are going on. Predict the winners and play on Baji!

More in Cricket Article