Cricket Article

Bangladesh looking forward to bounce back in the Test series against Pakistan

The Pakistan cricket team is now touring Bangladesh for the T20I and Test bilateral series in international cricket. In which the visiting Pakistan has whitewashed the Tigers in the 3-match T20I series. The 2-match Test series between the two teams is going to start tomorrow. The first match will be played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram. The second match will be played on December 4 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium (Dhaka) in Mirpur.

Bangladesh and Pakistan have met in 11 Test matches since 2001; Pakistan has won 10 and drawn 1 in the 11 matches they played. Bangladesh hasn’t yet to win a Test match against Pakistan. The last time the visiting Bangladesh lost to the Men in Greens (1-0) in a 2-match Test series was in February 2020.

However, Bangladesh played their last Test series against hosts Zimbabwe. In the only Test match where the Tigers won by a huge margin of 220 runs. Pakistan, on the other hand, drew their last Test series against the host West Indies. They played 2 matches there. The Caribbeans won the first match, and Pakistan levelled the series winning the previous match.

However, in the last 5 Test series, Bangladesh won 2 series and lost 3 series. The two series win the Tigers won were against Zimbabwe. On the other hand, Pakistan has won 2, lost 2, and drawn 1 of the last 5 Test series.

Due to the recent performances, the players of the Pakistan team have now become strong in confidence. On the other hand, the frustrated Bangladesh team will play in the 1st Test match without the world’s best all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan. Moreover, this time the Tigers play on home soil. They will try their best to bring the results of the series in their favour.

Pakistan is ranked 5th, and Bangladesh is ranked 9th in the ICC Test rankings. So Bangladesh will have to work hard in this series to build a strong position in the ICC Test rankings.


Test Squad:

Bangladesh – Mominul Haque (c), Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali, Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mehidy Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nurul Hasn (wk), Liton Das, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadot Hossain, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed.  

Pakistan – Babar Azam (c), Abid Ali, Fawad Alam, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Bilal Asif, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Saud Shakeel, Kamran Ghulam, Nauman Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Hasan Ali, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Abbas, Sajid Khan, Zahid Mahmood.


Test match schedule for Bangladesh and Pakistan:

1st Test – 26-30 November, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (Chattogram), 10:00 (GMT +6)

2nd Test – 04-08 December, Shere Bangla National Stadium (Dhaka), 10:00 (GMT +6)


After a decent T20I series, Bangladesh-Pakistan took the field for red-ball cricket. For more updates on it, stay with Baji!

More in Cricket Article