Cricket Article

Abu Dhabi T10 League Match Highlights: Northern Warrior lifts the trophy with an easy triumph over Delhi Bulls

Northern Warriors and Delhi Bulls met in the insane final of the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium (Abu Dhabi) on the night of February 6 (Saturday). Northern Warriors won by 8 wickets against their opponent Delhi Bulls.

Northern Warriors captain Nicholas Pooran decided to field after winning the toss and sent the Delhi Bulls to bat.

The Bulls didn’t get their intended start coming to bat first. The Bulls lost three wickets for 55 runs in the first five overs. The Warriors bowler did not shine properly at first. But the bowlers did not make mistakes in the end. The Bulls lost six wickets for 26 runs in the last five overs. The Bulls lost nine wickets in 10 overs and were able to score 81 runs. Mohammad Nabi (21) was the highest run-scorer for the team and Mahesh Theekshana was the highest wicket-taker for the Warriors (3-14, 2 overs).

While batting for an easy target of 82, Nicholas Pooran got out being LBW off Fidel Edwards. Even then, it seemed that the Bulls did not drop out of the match. It looked like they might take the reins of the match in their hands. But with 10 balls left in hand, with great batting efforts of the Warriors batsmen, they reached the port of victory with eight wickets in hand. Where Waseem Muhammad (27) and Rovman Powell (16*) scored well for the team. Two bowlers took one wicket each for the Bulls. Fidel Edwards (1-18, 2 overs) and Shiraz Ahmed (1-18, 2 overs).

The winners of the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021 are now the Northern Warriors and the Delhi Bulls are the runners-up after the defeat. Northern Warriors are the second time champions in Abu Dhabi T10 League. Earlier, they won the title in the second edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League (2018). With this, Northern Warriors reached the final twice and won the title twice.

Playing XIs:

Northern Warriors – Waseem Muhammad, Nicholas Pooran (c & wk), Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Lendl Simmons, Rovman Powell, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Maheesh Theekshana, Junaid Siddique, Rayad Emrit, Waheed Ahmed.

Delhi Bulls – Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Sherfane Rutherford, Mohammad Nabi, Dwayne Bravo (c), Evin Lewis, Ravi Bopara, Tom Abell, Nyeem Young, Waqas Maqsood, Shiraz Ahmed, Fidel Edwards.


Delhi Bulls – 81/9 (10)

Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Gurbaz, 1.2 over), 2-31 (Lewis, 2.5 over), 3-36 (Rutherford, 3.3 over), 4-61 (Nabi, 5.2 over), 5-66 (Bopara, 6.1 over), 6-66 (Bravo, 6.3 over), 7-74 (Abell, 7.4 over), 8-78 (Maqsood, 8.5 over), 9-79 (Shiraz, 9.2 over)

Northern Warriors – 85/2 (8.2)

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Pooran, 1.6 over), 2-62 (Waseem, 6.4 over)

Result – Northern Warriors won by 8 wickets

Player of the Match – Maheesh Theekshana

Player of the Series – Nicholas Pooran

This is it for this edition of Abu Dhabi T10 league. Follow us for more cricket news and updates & play on Baji!

More in Cricket Article